Crossroads Immigrants FrancoQueer

The Carrefour des Immigrants FrancoQueer (CIF) is a program which was established in 2015 with funding from the Ontario Ministry of Citizenship, Immigration and International Trade. The program was designed to help French-speaking men seeking men, women seeking women and LGBT refugees who are new to Canada.

The mandate of the CIF is to help with the establishment and social integration of LGBT francophones who oftentimes come from countries where homosexuality is heavily punished or criminalised, and where their lives are in danger. We offer numerous services in French, such as:

  • A telephone referral service
  • Confidential one-on-one meetings
  • Coordinating connections with other members of the community
  • Educational workshops for learning about Canadian culture
  • Dialogue and support groups on the topics of physical, sexual and mental health
  • Individualized confidential support in applying for asylum
  • Referral towards important services like housing assistance, English language classes, medical and mental health care, legal aid, and education and employment services

For more information, or to join the Carrefour des Immigrants FrancoQueer, please contact Ronald Dieleman by email at immigration@francoqueer.ca or by telephone at 647-709-2600.

 


 

During its first two years in existence, the Carrefour des Immigrants FrancoQueer program has helped over 110 francophone refugees who identify as sexual minorities. As a result of a demonstrated need within the community, the Ontario Ministry of Citizenship, Immigration and International Trade has recommitted its financial support until March of 2018. FrancoQueer is in the process of applying for a renewal for an additional three years.

FrancoQueer would like to thank our partner organizations who are associated with this project: the Ontario Council of Agencies Serving Immigrants (OCASI), Action positive VIH/sida, Oasis Centre des femmes, the Centre francophone de Toronto, Black Coalition for Aids Prevention and the Canadian Centre for Victims of Torture. Our coordinated actions allow us to reach out to a population around which there needs to be better awareness, and thus better serve people in need.

This program was established as the result of a research report on the needs of LGBTQIA francophone immigrants and refugees in Ontario, which was carried out in collaboration with OCASI, and with the financial support of the Ontario Ministry of Citizenship, Immigration and International Trade. The full report is available in French and in English by clicking here.

 

This program is funded by the Ontario Ministry of Citizenships, Immigration and International Trade.

Carrefour des Immigrants FrancoQueer

Programme mis en place en 2015 avec le financement du ministère ontarien des Affaires civiques, de l’Immigration et du Commerce international, le Carrefour des Immigrants FrancoQueer s’adresse aux réfugié·e·s LGBT francophones, hommes qui aiment les hommes, femmes qui aiment les femmes, nouvellement arrivé·e·s au Canada.

Le Carrefour des Immigrants FrancoQueer a pour mandat d’aider à l’établissement et à l’intégration sociale les personnes LGBT francophones en provenance de pays où bien souvent l’homosexualité est fortement réprimée ou criminalisée, mettant ainsi leur vie en danger. Nous offrons une gamme de services en français tels que:

  • Un service téléphonique d’aiguillage
  • Des rencontres individuelles et confidentielles
  • La mise en relation avec d’autres membres de la communauté
  • Des ateliers de formation et de découverte de la culture canadienne
  • Des groupes d’échange et de soutien sur la santé physique, sexuelle et mentale
  • L’accompagnement individuel et confidentiel dans la demande d’asile
  • L’orientation vers des services pertinents comme l’aide au logement, les cours d’anglais, les soins médicaux et de santé mentale, l’aide juridique, les services de formation et d’emploi

Pour plus d’information ou pour rejoindre le Carrefour des Immigrants FrancoQueer, veuillez contacter Ronald Dieleman par courriel à immigration@francoqueer.ca ou par téléphone au 647-709-2600.

 


 

Au cours de ses deux premières années d’existence, le programme Carrefour des Immigrants FrancoQueer a bénéficié à plus de 110 réfugié·e·s francophones issu·e·s de minorités sexuelles. Face aux besoins évidents de la communauté, le ministère ontarien des Affaires civiques, de l’Immigration et du Commerce international a été renouvelé son financement qui se poursuivra jusqu’en mars 2018. FrancoQueer prépare déjà un dossier de renouvellement pour trois années supplémentaires.

FrancoQueer tient à remercier les organismes partenaires qui se sont associés à ce projet : Ontario Council of Agencies Serving Immigrants (OCASI), Action positive VIH/sida, Oasis Centre des femmes, le Centre francophone de Toronto, Black Coalition for Aids Prevention et le Centre Canadien des Victimes de la Torture. Nos actions coordonnées permettent de toucher une population qui sera mieux discernée, et donc de mieux servir les personnes qui en ont besoin.

Ce programme a pu être mis en place suite au rapport de recherche sur les besoins des immigrants et réfugiés francophones LGBTQIA en Ontario, mené en collaboration avec OCASI, et avec l’appui financier du Ministère des Affaire Civiques et de l’Immigration de l’Ontario. Le rapport complet est disponible en français et en anglais en cliquant ici.

 

Ce programme est financé par le ministère des Affaires civiques et de l’Immigration de l’Ontario.