Franco Fierté

Founded in 2006, the Franco Fierté festival brings the LGBTQIA francophone and francophile community together for activities and unique meetup opportunities. During the early years of its development, the organisation encouraged other francophone groups, such as Oasis Centre des femmes, the Centre francophone de Toronto, as well as the Centres d’Accueil Héritage to join FrancoQueer for this community festival. Together, these groups form the francophone core at the heart of Ontario’s metropolis.

Franco Fierté 2015

In 2011, with the financial support of Heritage Canada and over thirty community partners, FrancoQueer established a close partnership with Pride Toronto, offering two days of programming as well as a francophone village at George Hislop Park during Pride Week in Toronto. This strategy has been well received by the public and by numerous francophone artists who have wanted the opportunity to present themselves at the city’s community festival.

Franco Fierté 2016

Over the following years, Franco Fierté Toronto diversified its means of financing and counts, for example, the Trillium Foundation, the Ontario Arts Council, the Office of Francophone Affairs, the Conseil scolaire Viamonde and numerous other institutional, commercial and community partners as loyal supporters. Thanks to this support, during the important celebrations of World Pride Toronto in the summer of 2014, the Pan Am Games and the 400th Anniversary of French Presence in Ontario in 2015, FrancoQueer commendably represented the LGBTQIA francophone community of Ontario through Franco Fierté.

It is in this spirit that Franco Fierté Toronto has pursued efforts for development and reinvention by forging new links with Pride Toronto and other partners in the francophone communities in Toronto and across Ontario, all the while exploring new ways of showcasing francophone cultures and emphasizing the artistic expression in our community.

Franco Fierté 2017

In 2016, to celebrate the 10th anniversary of FrancoQueer, we held 10 events focused on the artistic contributions of the diverse francophone populations that participate in the festival.

Franco Fierté is currently the only LGBT francophone festival in Ontario. For its seventh edition in 2017, Franco Fierté is celebrating both queer and francophone pride in spectacular fashion with the theme of 150 years in Ontario. The complete schedule is available at www.francofierte.ca.

If you would like to play a part in the development of Franco Fierté and FrancoQueer, join our team of volunteers and sign up for one of Ontario’s most unique cultural community projects!

Franco Fierté

Fondé en 2006, le festival Franco Fierté rassemble la communauté LGBTQIA francophone et francophile autour d’activités et de moments de rencontres uniques. Pendant les premières années de son développement, l’organisation encourageait d’autres organismes francophones tels que Oasis centre des femmes, le Centre francophone de Toronto, ou encore les Centres d’Accueil Héritage à se joindre à FrancoQueer lors de la foire communautaire. Ensemble ils formaient un noyau francophone au coeur de la métropole ontarienne.

Franco Fierté 2015

En 2011, grâce au soutien financier de Patrimoine canadien et d’une trentaine de partenaires communautaires, FrancoQueer a établi un partenariat plus étroit avec Pride Toronto, proposant alors deux jours de programmation ainsi qu’un Village francophone dans le parc George Hislop, lors de la semaine de la fierté / Pride Week de Toronto. Cette formule est bien accueillie par le public mais aussi par de nombreux artistes francophones, qui ont eu l’opportunité de se produire pendant la foire communautaire de la ville.

Franco Fierté 2016

Au cours des années suivantes, Franco Fierté Toronto a su diversifier ses sources de financement et comptait par exemple la Fondation Trillium, le Conseil des arts de l’Ontario, l’Office des affaires francophones, le Conseil scolaire Viamonde et plusieurs autres partenaires institutionnels, commerciaux et communautaires, comme fidèles soutiens. C’est ainsi que lors des grandes célébrations de la Fierté mondiale/World Pride à Toronto à l’été 2014, des Jeux panaméricains et du 400ème anniversaire de la présence francophone en Ontario en 2015, FrancoQueer a su représenter dignement la communauté LGBTQIA et francophone de la province à travers la Franco Fierté.

C’est dans cet esprit que Franco Fierté poursuit ses efforts de développement et de renouvellement, en tissant par exemple de nouveaux liens avec Pride Toronto et d’autres partenaires de la francophonie torontoise et ontarienne, tout en explorant de nouveaux modes d’expression des cultures francophones et de mise en valeur de l’expression artistique de la communauté.

Franco Fierté 2017

En 2016, pour fêter les 10 ans de FrancoQueer, ce sont 10 événements qui ont mis en valeur la création artistique francophone auprès des diverses populations participant au festival.

La Franco Fierté est aujourd’hui le seul festival francophone LGBT de l’Ontario. Pour sa 7eme édition en 2017, Franco Fierté célèbre la double fierté queer et franco de façon spectaculaire sur le thème des 150 ans de l’Ontario. Le programme complet est disponible sur www.francofierte.ca

Si vous souhaitez vous aussi avoir un rôle dans le développement de Franco Fierté et de FrancoQueer, joignez notre équipe de bénévoles et inscrivez-vous dans un projet culturel communautaire unique en Ontario!